To understand how a Plan works, it is important to break down its components.

In this article I will show you the basic parts of a plan that you need to know to configure, edit and optimize your Main Plan and Custom Plans.

Use these links to go to the section of the article you need help with:

Components of a Posting Plan

When you go to Posting Plans in Publishing, you will see the following:

1. Plan heading

The heading "Posting times for" indicate the name of the active plan. It could reflect the Main Plan or a Custom Plan.

Posting times for: Main Plan

Posting times for: Custom Plan

2. Time zone

You choose your time zone in the Intro.

But you can edit it any time.

When you create a custom plan, you can also choose a different time zone for that plan.

3. Day groups

You will automatically have two day groups for your initial Main Plan:

  • Weekdays

  • Weekends

These day groups will have the exact same time slots and content configuration by default:

You can configure the day groups by clicking the day buttons representing the days of the week under each day group.

4. Posting times

Posting times are the times or time slots when your planned posts will publish.

You can always add, edit or delete a posting time.

  • To add, click on the "Add New Time" button under the Posting Time section

  • To edit, click on the pencil icon ✏️ when you hover on the left side of the posting time that you want to edit.

  • To delete, click on the "X' button when you hover on the left side of the posting time that you want to delete.

5. Content Mix

The content mix is the content allowed to post at each time slot.

The content types are:

  • Images

  • Videos/GIFs

  • Articles/Links

  • Texts

These content types are represented by the four buttons under the CONTENT ALLOWED TO POST section of the plan.

You can mix and match these contents with the days/day groups and posting times of your Plan according to your needs and preference.

How to configure your Main Plan

Setting up the Main Plan is part of Post Planner's Intro after you sign up with us! 🏆

To configure your Main Plan, go to Posting Plans in Publishing

Here you'll see the plan you configured in the Intro as the Main Plan

The Main Plan is the plan that applies to all of your profiles until you create a custom plan for specific profiles.

If you do not create any custom plans, this Main Plan will continue to apply to all of your profiles.

If you create posts for any of these profiles they will follow this plan.

Custom Plans: How to Create, Edit and Delete

Want to have a custom posting plan for a specific social profile?

Here's how to create, edit and delete a custom plan:

How to Create a Custom Plan

1. Go to Posting Plans in Publishing

2. Click on Custom Plans.

3. Click "ADD CUSTOM PLAN"

4. Select the profile you want to add a custom plan for

Keep in mind: your newly created custom plan will always replicate your Main Plan EXACTLY.

The days, times and content mix of the new Custom Plan will be exactly the same as your current Main Plan.

NOTE: when you create a new Custom Plan, you’ll notice that the profile with the new Custom Plan will be removed from the Main Plan.

How to Edit a Custom Plan

Here's how to edit the posting days, times and content mix of your custom plan:

1. How to edit days (or day groups)

Below you see two day groups with different posting times:

  • Weekdays

  • Weekends

To edit the custom plan and remove one of the day groups (and make the posting times the same for all the days of the week), all you have to do is:

  • Delete the "Weekend" day group by clicking "X"

  • Activate SAT and SUN under the WEEKDAYS day group

    • Green boxes = activated; Gray boxes = deactivated

    • When all boxes are activated, the day group’s name becomes EVERY DAY

2. How to add, edit or delete times (or time slots)

To add a new time slot, click "ADD NEW TIME".

Then use the clock to choose the time and click OK.

To edit or delete time slots, hover your mouse over the time slot and click "X" (to delete) or the pencil icon (to edit) the time slot.

3. How to edit the content mix

To edit the content mix, simply click on the content icons to activate or deactivate them for each time slot.

  • Green icons = content will be allowed to publish

  • Gray icons = content will NOT be allowed to publish

How to Delete a Custom Plan

To delete one of your Custom Plans and revert the profile's posting plan to the Main Plan, do the following

  • Click on "Custom Plans"

  • Hover over the custom plan you want to delete click the "X" and confirm

The profile with the deleted custom plan will revert to the Main Plan after the deletion:

Need Additional Help?

Did this answer your question?