Are your posts failing?


Are some of your profiles, pages or groups not showing up?

You probably need to reset your social connection in Post Planner by removing the app and re-authorizing it on the relevant social network.

This process is what we call a "hard reset".

It's a brute-force re-authorization of your social profiles — and should be a "last resort" when trying to fix errors, failed posts or missing profiles.

Here's how to "hard reset" for each type of social profile:

How to reset your Facebook & Instagram connection

(1) Remove the Post Planner app from your Facebook account settings.

Click here to go to your Facebook settings and then choose Post Planner, and click "Remove" to remove the app:

Click "Remove" on the confirmation dialog box.

Then click on Done.

(2) Go to Settings > Social Networks in Post Planner and click the "X" to remove all Facebook and Instagram accounts:

Confirm removal of your Instagram profile by clicking on "OK".

(3) Logout of Post Planner and logout of Facebook.

(4) Close your browser and re-open it

(5) Login to Facebook again — and then login to your Post Planner account

(6) Go to Settings > Social Networks in Post Planner

IMPORTANT: the Facebook row should be blank. If it is not blank, this process won't work. Please go back to Steps 1 and 2 and remove Post Planner from your Facebook settings and X all your FB and IG accounts in Post Planner's settings.

(7) Click the green "CONNECT" button on the Facebook row and accept/allow ALL permissions and connect ALL pages/groups.

IMPORTANT: You must click "Accept" and agree to EVERY prompt asking for Facebook Permissions for Post Planner. We only ask for the permissions Post Planner needs to run properly. The app will not work without ALL permissions being accepted.

ALSO IMPORTANT: You must click to connect EVERY Facebook page and group on your account. Please do not pick and choose a smaller subset of pages/groups to connect to Post Planner. If you do this, the reset likely will not work.

Just because you connect all your pages and groups to Post Planner does not mean you have to activate them. If you do not activate them, there is no way for Post Planner to post to them.

After accepting ALL permissions and connecting ALL pages/groups, you should see ALL the Facebook pages and groups you are an admin of available (but not activated) in Post Planner Settings > Social Networks here.

(8) Click the green "CONNECT" button on the Instagram row.

You should see all your Instagram business accounts that are linked to your Facebook pages (that are connected to Post Planner).

(9) Refresh the page on Settings > Social Networks and then click the green "REFRESH" button on the Facebook row one last time.

(10) Check in your Facebook settings to confirm that ALL Facebook Permissions have been granted and are active.

  • Make sure ALL permissions checkboxes on the right side are checked "ON", including (important!) the 2 Instagram permissions

Pay special attention that you have the 2 Instagram permissions checked:

YOUR HARD RESET OF FACEBOOK & INSTAGRAM IS DONE!

How to reset your LinkedIn connection

(1) Remove the Post Planner app from your LinkedIn settings

Go to LinkedIn Permitted Services, choose Post Planner, and click "Remove" to remove the app:

(2) Logout of Post Planner and logout of LinkedIn

(3) Login to LinkedIn again login to your Post Planner account

(4) Go to Settings > Social Networks (the previously connected LinkedIn account should be gone). Click "CONNECT" or "CONNECT MORE" on the LinkedIn row and accept/allow all permissions to connect your LinkedIn account again.

IMPORTANT: You must click allow and agree to EVERY prompt asking for LinkedIn Permissions for Post Planner. We only ask for the permissions Post Planner needs to run properly. The app will not work without ALL permissions being accepted.

(5) Refresh the page on Settings > Social Networks

YOUR HARD RESET OF LINKEDIN IS DONE!

How to reset your Pinterest connection

(1) Remove the Post Planner app from from your Pinterest Settings.

(2) Go to Pinterest Settings.

(3) Click on Apps from the sidebar.

(4) Look for Post Planner then click on "Revoke Access" button.

(5) You will be asked to confirm the action. Click on the red "Revoke access" button.

(6) Logout of Post Planner and Logout of Pinterest.

(7) Login to Pinterest again login to your Post Planner account

(8) Go to Settings > Social Networks. Click "CONNECT" or "CONNECT MORE" on the Pinterest row and accept/allow all permissions to connect your Pinterest account again.

(9) IMPORTANT: You must click allow and agree to EVERY prompt asking for Pinterest Permissions for Post Planner. We only ask for the permissions Post Planner needs to run properly. The app will not work without ALL permissions being accepted.

(10) Refresh the page on Settings > Social Networks

YOUR HARD RESET OF PINTEREST IS DONE!

How to reset your Twitter connection

(1) Disconnect any profile by clicking the remove "X" that appears when you hover over the profile

(2) Re-connect the profile from these networks again by following instructions here.

YOUR HARD RESET OF TWITTER IS DONE!

You're all set!

Please try again the Post Planner functionality you were having problems with before.

If the problems persist, please contact customer support and we'll get you answers!

Need Additional Help?

Did this answer your question?